12 x 1/2 hr & 6 x 1hr Documentary Series

Polar Bear Town

Original Air Date [Canada]:

Original Air Date [USA]:


Sept 22, 2015

Polar Bear Town

Mixed format series – 18 stand alone episodes:

Rogers OLN (Canada): 12 x 1/2 hr episodes

Smithsonian Channel (USA): 6 x 1hr episodes

HD 2015


“Polar Bear Town” is an innovative documentary series that combines blue chip natural history with high-end actuality, in a mixed format delivery. With a 6 x 1 hr version for Smithsonian Channel USA and a 12 x 1/2 hr version for Rogers OLN, the project delivers 18 stand-alone episodes.

Every autumn, over 1,000 starving polar bears travel directly through the northern town of Churchill, Manitoba to reach their hunting grounds on Hudson Bay. This series follows the migration of the world’s biggest land predator, the tourists who come to witness the spectacle – and the resulting conflicts it brings with the town’s inhabitants.

The series “Polar Bear Town” follows the natural cycle of this epic predator migration through a frontier town in Canada’s remote northern wilderness. A combination of gorgeous, behaviour-lead, blue chip natural history and action packed obs doc, “Polar Bear Town” reveals the remarkable relationship that exists between the polar bears and the people of Churchill, Manitoba.


oln_ca smithsonian channel-black EarthTouch CableNetworkFund_stacked_CMYK CMF_logo_en_rev_cmyk Canada Manitoba